Do you have any questions about our company or would you like a consultation?

Call or email us, we look forward to our next challenge.

Our team

Matthias Schubert, Ph.D.

Managing Director

Matthias Schubert has been Managing Director of Matrisk GmbH since 2009 in a managerial and operational role. Previously, he worked at the Institute for Structural Analysis and Construction at ETH Zurich as a research associate in the Risk and Safety in Engineering group. The focus of his work there was on risk analyzes for technical systems, statistical methods and time series analyses. Matthias Schubert studied civil engineering at the RWTH Aachen University and received his doctorate from the ETH Zurich. In addition to project work, he has been conducting several publicly funded research projects at Matrisk since 2009 and always strives to implement the most modern approaches from research in practice. Matthias Schubert specializes in risk assessments and decision analysis for engineered systems, including natural hazard risks, tunnel safety, industrial risks, offshore risks, and reliability and risk assessments in the automotive and aerospace industries. Matthias Schubert has been a board member of the Joint Committee on Structural Safety (JCSS) since June 2017, has been a member of the SIA Standards Commission 260 since October 2020 and is active in teaching.

Katharina Fischer, Ph.D.

Katharina Fischer has been a member of the Matrisk GmbH team since 2014. Previously, she worked as a research assistant at the Institute of Structural Engineering at ETH Zurich in the Risk and Safety as well as the Steel, Timber and Composite Construction Groups. As part of her research work, she dealt with reliability theory, decision-making under uncertainty and the analysis of fire risks. Katharina Fischer studied engineering management at the TU Braunschweig and holds a doctorate from ETH Zurich.

Oliver Kübler, Ph.D.

Oliver Kübler joined Matrisk in 2019 as an expert in risk and reliability modeling and decision support. His goal is to help infrastructure owners make the best use of limited resources while taking acceptable risks. Before joining Matrisk, he worked as a natural catastrophe (nat cat) expert for a reinsurance company that assesses nat cat risks worldwide. He also benefits from his experience as a structural engineer and risk analyst in Scandinavia.

Paul-Remo Wagner, Ph.D.

Paul-Remo Wagner has been with Matrisk since 2022 as a risk and reliability modeling expert. He received his doctorate in 2021 from the Chair of Risk, Safety and Uncertainty Quantification at ETH Zurich on the development of surrogate models. Prior to that, he studied civil engineering and researched the development of novel seismic protection methods and the modeling of shape memory alloys. As a developer of the UQLab software platform he also has extensive experience in Bayesian methods for model calibration and software development.

Claudia Schuler has been supporting Matrisk GmbH as a fiduciary expert since 2015 in all administrative matters. Her many years of experience in the areas of accounting, management and tax consulting relieve the organization and significantly simplify internal processes.

Prof. Michael Havbro Faber, Ph.D.

Michael Havbro Faber, co-founder of Matrisk, is Professor of Risk-Based Decision Making in Engineering at Aalborg University, Denmark. Prior to his current academic position, he was Head of the Department of Civil Engineering at DTU, Denmark and Full Professor at ETH Zurich. In addition to his academic career, he has extensive practical experience in the application of methods from structural reliability theory, load analysis, structural design, assessment of existing structures and risk-based inspection and maintenance planning in the civil engineering, offshore and aviation sectors.

Prof. Jochen Koehler, Ph.D.

Jochen Köhler has been working for Matrisk since 2007 and became a partner in 2008. He has great expertise and experience with structural reliability analysis and risk analysis in civil engineering. In addition to his employment at Matrisk, Jochen Köhler worked as a research assistant and postdoc at ETH Zurich. He has been a professor at the NTNU in Trondheim, Norway since 2012.

Prof. Daniel Straub, Ph.D.

Daniel Straub is a co-founder of Matrisk GmbH and a leading expert in engineering system health assessments and natural hazard risk analysis and management. Daniel Straub is a professor at TU Munich, where he leads the Engineering Risk Analysis Group.

EN

Haben Sie Fragen zu unserem Unternehmen oder wünschen ein Beratungsgespräch?

Rufen Sie an oder schreiben uns eine E-Mail, wir freuen uns auf die nächste Herausforderung.

Unser Team

Dr. Matthias Schubert

Geschäftsführer

Matthias Schubert ist seit 2009 Geschäftsführer der Matrisk GmbH in leitender und operativer Funktion. Zuvor arbeitete er am Institut für Baustatik und Konstruktion der ETH Zürich als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der Gruppe Risiko und Sicherheit im Ingenieurwesen. Der Fokus seiner Arbeit lag dort auf Risikoanalysen für technische Systeme, statistische Methoden und Zeitreihenanalysen. Matthias Schubert studierte Bauingenieurwesen an der RWTH Aachen und promovierte an der ETH Zürich. Bei Matrisk führte er seit 2009 neben der Projektarbeit mehrere öffentlich geförderte Forschungsprojekte durch und strebt immer die Umsetzung modernster Ansätze aus der Forschung in der Praxis an. Matthias Schubert ist spezialisiert auf Risikobewertungen und Entscheidungsanalysen für technische Systeme, einschließlich Naturgefahrrisiken, Tunnelsicherheit, Industrierisiken, Offshore-Risiken sowie Zuverlässigkeits- und Risikobewertungen in der Automobil- und Raumfahrtindustrie. Matthias Schubert ist seit 06.2017 Vorstandsmitglied im Joint Committee on Structural Safety (JCSS), ist seit 10.2020 Mitglied der SIA Normenkommission 260 und ist in der Lehre tätig.

Dr. Katharina Fischer

Katharina Fischer ist seit 2014 Mitglied im Team der Matrisk GmbH. Zuvor arbeitete sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Baustatik und Konstruktion der ETH Zürich in den Gruppen Risiko und Sicherheit sowie Stahl-, Holz- und Verbundbau. Im Rahmen ihrer Forschungsarbeit beschäftigte sie sich unter anderem mit Zuverlässigkeitstheorie, Entscheidungsfindung unter Unsicherheit und mit der Analyse von Brandrisiken. Katharina Fischer studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der TU Braunschweig und führt einen Doktortitel der ETH Zürich.

Dr. Oliver Kübler

Oliver Kübler kam 2019 als Experte für Risiko- und Zuverlässigkeitsmodellierung und Entscheidungs-unterstützung zu Matrisk. Sein Ziel ist es, Infrastrukturbesitzer bei der optimalen Nutzung begrenzter Ressourcen zu unterstützen und akzeptable Risiken einzugehen. Vor seinem Eintritt arbeitete er als Experte für Naturkatastrophen (Nat Cat) für eine Rückversicherungsgesellschaft, die weltweit Nat Cat Risiken bewertet. Darüber hinaus profitiert er von seiner Erfahrung als Statiker und Risikoanalytiker in Skandinavien.

Dr. Paul-Remo Wagner

Paul-Remo Wagner ist seit 2022 als Experte für Risiko- und Zuverlässigkeitsmodellierung bei Matrisk. Er promovierte 2021 am Lehrstuhl für Risiko- Sicherheit und Quantifizierung von Ungewissheiten an der ETH Zürich zur Entwicklung von Ersatzmodellen. Davor schloss er ein Studium der Bauingenieurwissenschaften ab und forschte während seines Studiums unter anderem an der Entwicklung von neuartigen seismischen Schutzmethoden und der Modellierung von Formgedächtnislegierungen im Bauwesen. Als Entwickler der Softwareplattform UQLab hat er hat ausserdem viel Erfahrung in Bayes’sche Methoden zur Modellkalibrierung und der Softwareentwicklung.

Claudia Schuler unterstützt die Matrisk GmbH als dipl. Treuhandexpertin seit 2015 in sämtlichen administrativen Belangen. Ihre langjährigen Erfahrungen aus den Bereichen Rechnungswesen, Unternehmens- und Steuerberatung entlasten die Organisation und vereinfachen die internen Prozesse massgeblich.

Prof. Dr. Michael Havbro Faber

Michael Havbro Faber, Mitbegründer von Matrisk, ist Professor im Bereich der risikobasierten Entscheidungsfindung im Ingenieurwesen der Aalborg University, Dänemark. Vor seiner jetzigen akademischen Position war er Leiter des Departements für Bauingenieurwesen an der DTU, Dänemark, und ordentlicher Professor an der ETH Zürich. Neben seiner akademischen Laufbahn verfügt er über umfangreiche praktische Erfahrungen in der Anwendung von Methoden der strukturellen Zuverlässigkeitstheorie, der Lastanalyse, Tragwerksplanung, Bewertung bestehender Bauwerke und risikobasierte Inspektions- und Instandhaltungsplanung in den Bereichen Bauwesen, Offshore und Luftfahrt.

Prof. Dr. Jochen Köhler

Jochen Köhler arbeitet seit 2007 für Matrisk und ist seit 2008 Partner der GmbH. Er hat eine grosse Expertise und Erfahrung mit strukturellen Zuverlässigkeitsanalysen und Risikoanalysen im Bauingenieurwesen. Neben seiner Anstellung bei Matrisk arbeitete Jochen Köhler als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und PostDoc an der ETH Zürich. Seit 2012 ist Jochen Köhler Professor an der NTNU in Trondheim, Norwegen.

Prof. Dr. Daniel Straub

Daniel Straub ist ein Mitbegründer der Matrisk GmbH und ein führender Experte für Zustandsuntersuchungen an Ingenieursystemen und für die Analyse und das Mangement von Risiken aus Naturgefahren. Seit 2008 ist Daniel Straub Professor an der TU München, wo er die Engineering Risk Analysis Group leitet.

DE